Happy Weekend: 

How are you tonight?  Once again, I have to take a moment to thank you for the great Airmails regarding the Aircast, blog, website, and “Take Me To A Circus Tent- The Jefferson Airplane Flight Manual.” When the book came out I made a promise that anyone that would be kind enough to contact me regarding interviews/reviews or simply to say hello and have suggestions for future Aircasts, it would be my honor to respond. During the day I check the Airmails several times and it still gives the same great feeling to see good folks like you writing from all points of the globe.  Thank you! I’m working on ideas for the next two Aircasts and received some terrific suggestions.   For those of you that aren’t old like me it is possible you will get a kick out of this story.  The way the technology has changed since the personal computer is amazing and mind-blowing.  When I began in radio in 1981, I worked for a tremendous station that afforded me the opportunity to host a free form show WFDU-FM (89.1) in Teaneck, New Jersey.  The signal covered New York City, parts of Long Island, sections of Connecticut, and several counties in New Jersey.  I was always interested in production.  In the dark ages if you wanted to record and edit a promo for the station or a medley of songs, or even a demo tape you would need several things.  This included reel-to-reel tape, a splicing block, a marking pencil (Called a grease pencil), razor blades, and splicing tape.  If the station would be low on supplies waiting for a delivery from a wholesaler, I would venture to the outside world looking for stock.  Although the station is in Bergen County which is as crowded with shopping as Tokyo, there was only one retailer that would have the equipment needed for production.  However, there was a but…………. They would always manage to not have something in stock.  If you needed splicing tape and a grease pencil, they would offer fifty percent results!  Fast forward to the 1990’s.  One day I am having a conversation with drummer extraordinaire Ron Howden from the progressive rock band Nektar.  Ron was telling me how with the software available for the computer you can edit without the fear of an error.  Unlike the days with splicing tape if you make a mistake you can undo anything!  He went on to explain about the ability to remove clicks and pops from songs that were originally recorded from vinyl, fix the speed of a song that was too slow or fast and the countless other techniques that were available to even the non-professional musician. Every time I record the Aircast, I think of the past.  Without having to leave the home, office, or studio a person can host a Podcast with as little as a microphone and an audio capture/editing program.   When I used to hear somebody say “In My day”, it now makes sense.  The old Airplane Man remembers eight track tapes, splicing for production, black and white televisions, and no cellular phones. I am a relic but do have great memories of a special time for rock and roll. 

Have a great and safe weekend and please look for an Aircast in the next several days. All the best,Craig           

